New to detailing

bjgross

Dr G

I am new to the world of detailing, having been a wash and wax type of guy for years. I just purchased my first toy car and am interested in learning the best way to protect the exterior finish. Definition - toy car is a car you only drive on weekends and pamper like a spoiled child (or wife). The Optimum products sound very good, and I especially like the way you can put down additional layers for added depth and the cross-linking polymers will cause the layers to bond together. However, I am a little nervous about something that is more permanent than wax, and have a few questions.

1) What is the recommended (most important) step to prepare the surface before the first application of OptiSeal, keeping in mind this is a new car and the clearcoat is in perfect condition? So far all I have done is wax it with a quality carnauba wax.

2) How long will the OptiSeal last and if I put down additional layers isn't there a possibility that I can get too many layers down?

3) Is there any possibility that with either improper preparation or too many coats, that it may start to peel?

4) How do you remove the product without damaging the finish, if you want to start fresh?

5) Most of the members on this forum seem to be professional detailers, who put down the OptiSeal with power buffers. One member describes polishing until the product "melts into the paint", which seems to imply a power buffer. Can a weekend detailer apply the OptiSeal products by hand or is a power buffer required?

6) Is there a recommended regimen of different Optimum treatments and products (layers) that you would recommend for a new car, along with a schedule on how often to repeat?

And finally