Boycott Berkley!!

Steve H

Okay...soap box time. I generally try to refrain from commenting on political issues, but this one was so egregious that I could not ignore it. For those of you that have heard, the City of Berkley, California recently voted to condemn the local Marine Corps recruiting office and declared them "unwelcome guests" within their city.

While I have never been in the military, I've been a cop for 20 years, I have nothing but the utmost respect for our men and women who choose to serve in our countries services protecting our freedoms. I also may not agree with some of the wars we are currently embroiled in, but, never will I bad mouth or demean our service members like this so called city counsel has chosen to.I only wish there were more I could do other than expressing my displeasure here and to anyone else who will give me 5 minutes of time to bend their ear!!

I also find it ironic that many of the "best and brightest" minds we see coming out of Berkley and the state university at this location have no problem bad mouthing others. Isn't it funny how these people eschew the "rich" and claim that the "rich and wealthy" are evil and the root of all of society's ills, yet, they have no problem going to a Starbucks for coffee, or using their wealthy parents money to pay for their tuition, or buying things online from locations that I, as a middle class American, avoid simply because I don't have that kind of expendable cash!

Phew.... I feel better....thanks for lending me your ears for 5 minutes. :):thumbsupup[1]:

Anyhow..... here's some links to both the stories regarding Berkley's position on the issue, as well as, a link to the actual city counsel agenda.

Steve

Berkley City Counsel agenda

San Jose Mercury News Article