Correcting 5 month old high spots in OC 2.0?

Slick-Rides

I had Opti-coat 2.0 applied to a really soft, black, single stage paint about 5 months ago. We were trying to add protection as well as a layer of hardness since the paint is so soft. The detailer applied it very heavy. The car looked great when I picked it up but shortly after I noticed some high spots. Actually, there are a lot of high spots that are really obvious on an overcast day.

Since it's been 5 months and the Opti-coat is fully cured, what would be my best approach to getting rid of the high spots? Will Poly-Seal still be strong enough or do I need to step up to something more aggressive? I will be using a PC. What type of pad should I use? Really hoping the whole coating doesn't have to be polished off. I'm an amateur at detailing and was hoping the Opti-coat was going to last for awhile. This is on a garage queen that only comes out for car shows and an occasional cruise.

Thanks in advance for any help.

I would go with a fine finishing polish to remove the high spots. OC can be a polished a couple of time with out the coating be compromised.

If the detailer installed it and left the high spots I would have taken back to him. Seeing that its been five months I don't know that he would but its certainly worth a try.

Detailer isn't a pro, just does it on the side a little. I really can't complain for what he charges. Right now I'm looking at trying Optimum GPS with a finishing pad. Sound about right? Not looking to correct any marring or swirls, just knock down the high spots. I'll obviously go over the whole car so it'll look uniform.

• 1 month later...
  • 5 months later...