Help A Noob

I am completely new to detailing, but I've just bought a brand new metallic black 328i and I'd like to make sure that I keep it looking as beautiful as it is now for many years to come. I've been lurking around Autopia and this forum for a few days just absorbing some of the knowledge to be found here, but this is a little like drinking through a fire hose so I thought I'd ask a few specific questions.

Can someone give me a run down of the primary purpose of the main Optimum products? From what I gather the Opti-Seal is intended mainly as a paint protector which will guard against scratches and swirl marks to a certain extent. The spray wax is mostly a cosmetic enhancer in that it makes the paint look deeper and more reflective etc. but does not necessarily offer significant protection. But I've also seen that Optimum has an Instant Detailer which is also mostly for improving the looks of the car, but I don't know what the difference between that and the wax is. Then I've also read about Poli-Seal, but I'm not really sure how that fits into the equation. Are there any I'm missing?

And more specifically what is the recommended process/schedule for maintaining a car's paint? To give a little background, I had my car detailed once already by Scottwax in order to get a good properly applied coat of wax on it as well as to observe some of his techniques. If I remember correctly he first ONR'd it, then applied Poli-Seal with a rotary followed by a carnuba wax applied by hand. So at this point what would you recommend as a weekly maintenance plan? I've already got some ONR and a bottle of the spray wax that I was planning to use as the basis of my regimen but would like some additional advice and recommendations.

Sorry for the length of this post and thanks in advance.

-Mike

Mike, welcome aboard.

You have gotten off to a good start having Scott evaluate and detail your new BMW for you.

Lets run down the products.