Cincinnati(middle aged) Kid

Bill G.

Wow what a great site. I found the site last night and have spent hours on it since. I am inspired to take better care of my cars. I must confess I have been very bad. I have not waxed, polished, sealed or anything else other than washing it since I bought it new 6 years ago. (I can imagine the groans that confession will bring.) After reading all the great info and watching the videos on this site I have the confidence and motivation to turn off the Golf Channel and get to work.

I need some help getting started. I'm not sure if I should beg for advice here or post elsewhere on this site. I am a total noob to forums so please forgive me if I'm going about this wrong. I would like to give my old car some TLC before I sell it and get off to a good start with my new baby. Need to know what Optimum products I need to get started.

1. Old Car - Current condition - a variety of bugs stuck on the front of the car, small scratches and scuffmarks here and there, some chips in paint (some starting to rust), some tar behing the wheels.

Goal - I'm not looking for perfect finish. I would like to get the bugs and tar off, touch up the chips and seal or wax the finish. Perhaps using the new clay bar substitute or a noob friendly easy way to improve the finish before sealing or waxing.

2. New car- Would you recommend sealing or waxing or anything else right away? I did read that it was recommended that you use a clay bar before sealing a new car. The whole car or just any areas that need it?

I need a shopping list for both projects, ONR,OS, towels, mits etc.

I have reviewed all the tutorials and many of the posts. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

If I need to post this elsewhere I'm happy to do it.

Thanks,

Bill

Hi Bill

First of all let me welcome you to the Optimum Forums, I'm sure we'll be able to help you out with anything you might need.