Hyper Awesome?

Heijneker

Hey All,

Small backstory;

I'm a part-time professional detailer doing mainly dealer work. Which works great for me since it's awesome practice and an almost never-ending supply. In just a couple of months, I've gotten a million times better/more efficient and learnt a boat-ton. I almost solely use Optimum products, however during these couple of months, I kept switching between Menzerna polishing compounds and OPT ones. Slowely but surely, my Menzerna polishes are becoming redundant, as I'm learning to use the OPT ones to great effect.

To the point:

So today, I was assigned a badly neglected and weathered white van. I get these quite often, but I figure this was the worst one yet:

20211113-151425.jpg

I tried to polish out similar ones with OPT polishes before but to no succes, neither with rotary or FLEX XFE 7-15. What did somewhat work though was a High Speed Rotary, an 8' wool pad and lots of Menzerna 400. It would get the paint shiny pretty quickly, but of course not near/around the edges. It was also hard work and I don't believe the results would be lasting.

Well fast-forward a month, and I've really learnt alot about the OPT spray polishes, since I use these most of the time. I got a Zentool 21mm, Lake Country 4000 pad washer, and a meriad of microfiber and wool pads. Yvan's advice to stick to low tool speeds finally struck home. I'm finally polishing on speed 2 (which was difficult to do if you're used to speed 4-5...) with no weight on the tool and getting awesome results. I've never gotten flat black cars to be so nice so quickly, as with Hyper Polish on a Rupes Yellow wool pad.